News Story

NSU’s Alumni Association names Outstanding Seniors for 2016

Northeastern State University’s Alumni Association names the 2016 Outstanding Seniors for Tahlequah and Broken Arrow campus. The Outstanding Senior recognition honors graduating seniors, nominated by NSU faculty and staff, who have made significant contributions to NSU through academic achievement, campus activities, community service, honors and awards. The Alumni Association bestows this recognition for both Tahlequah and Broken Arrow campuses each spring. From those selected Outstanding Seniors, the Alumni Association Board of Directors will name a Jack Kaufman Senior of Distinction from both the Broken Arrow and Tahlequah campuses.

Honored seniors on the Tahlequah campus are Hutchinson Andersen from Porter, Oklahoma, Kaitlan Beasley from Ketchum, Oklahoma, Elizabeth Cotrill from Disney, Oklahoma, Kyrston Dozier from Kansas, Oklahoma, Madison Gerhart from Pryor, Oklahoma, Morgan Helterbrand from Edmond, Oklahoma, Devon Isaacs from Stilwell, Oklahoma, Jacob Jones from Skiatook, Oklahoma, Breanna Potter from Sallisaw, Oklahoma, Kayla Schroeder from Bristow, Oklahoma, Conner Schwab from Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, Delia Thurman from Stigler, Oklahoma, and James Townsend from Tahlequah, Oklahoma.

The Outstanding Seniors for the Broken Arrow campus are Emmalee Cook from Owasso, Oklahoma, Glenda Durland from Tulsa, Oklahoma, Sheridan Pogue from Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, Terra Rhoads from Sapulpa, Oklahoma, and Jessica Sharp from Tulsa, Oklahoma.

All honorees receive a stole to be worn at graduation, a framed award certificate, and one-year membership to the Alumni Association.

From the Outstanding Seniors, the Alumni Board of Directors’ awards committee will select the Jack Kaufman Senior of Distinction through an interview process. The seniors selected for the Kaufman award each receive three-year memberships in the Alumni Association, two complimentary tickets to NSU’s Emerald Ball, a monetary award of $500, and the first-ever Kaufman Medal.

The Tahlequah Outstanding Seniors will be recognized at the Ovation Awards on April 9 at 10 a.m. in the University Center’s Sen. Herb Rozell Ballroom on the Tahlequah Campus. The Broken Arrow honorees will be honored at the Spring Leadership Banquet April 22 at 6:30 p.m. in the Administrative Services Building Banquet Hall on the Broken Arrow campus. The Kaufman winner from each campus will be announced at these awards ceremonies.

For more information, please visit NSU Alumni Association's Outstanding Seniors.

Published: 3/28/2016 9:09:39 AM

Go back to News Central